Webinar: How Microbiome and Diet Affect Your GVHD – Tuesday, Sept. 29, 2020

These innovative and emerging studies and findings discussed during this FREE webinar will offer new opportunities to improve allo-HCT outcomes through diet, nutritional know how and the judicious use of antibiotics.

The intestinal microbiota plays an important role in the pathophysiology of a variety of diseases. Studies in mouse and man from the 1970s have indicated that changes in the gut flora are associated with overall outcome after allogeneic hematopoietic cell transplantation (allo-HCT), including overall survival, graft-versus-host disease, engraftment and infection. These changes are due to decreased or altered diet, conditioning regimens, antibiotics and other drugs. Dr. van den Brink will give practical advice and a serving of hope to so many suffering with GVHD. Peter Adintori, the Clinical Research Dietitian in Dr. van den Brink’s lab, will offer additional practical nutrition tips to support patients during their journey with GVHD. As well, our licensed staff social worker, Jennifer Gillette will offer comfort and guidance to all regarding the emotional havoc GVHD can sometimes bring.

Tuesday, Sept. 29, 2020
12:00 Noon until 1:30 pm EDT
Be sure to note the time zones
12 pm (Noon) to 1 pm: Eastern Time,
11 am to 12:00 pm: Central Time
10 am to 11 am: Mountain Time,
9 am to 10 am: Pacific Time

Presenters:
Dr. Marcel van den Brink, MD, PhD & Peter Adintori, MS, RD, CDN, CNSC, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Facilitator: Jennifer Gillette, LMSW, nbmtLINK

To register for this webinar, click here: Register

Questions? Contact Peggy Burkhard at 248-358-1886 or peggyburkhard@nbmtlink.org

Recent Posts

Pin It on Pinterest